The former Town of Port Credit earned a reputation for its excellent harbor, through which grain and lumber were exported. The first permanent structure to be built in the village was the Government Inn (1798-1861), once located on the east bank of the River. Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe had ordered construction of the Inn to serve as a way station for travelers by land and lake, and it was leased to a succession of residents until its destruction by fire. The village plan was laid out in 1834 and for several years, Port Credit was a thriving harbor community. Later in the 19th century, it became known for its stonehooking trade. For years, a unique craft called a "stonehooker" plied the waters of Lake Ontario, near t he shore, collecting stones for use in local building trades. Other industries such as the St. Lawrence Starch Works (1889-1989) and the Port Credit Brick Yard (1891-1927) provided employment for many local residents. By the 20th century, particularly after the paving of the Lakeshore Highway 1915, Port Credit had become an attractive location for tourists and travelers. It acquired the status of "police village" in 1909, town status in 1961, and joined the City of Mississauga in 1974.
Source: Mississauga Heritage Foundation, http://www5.mississauga.ca/heritage/new/history.htm
March 10, 2005